The New Monkey

Another year has turned over, and I am finally lifting out of a lifetime of funk. Coming to painful realizations means accepting the truth and moving forward. It isn’t easy or fun, but it is being honest with myself and that makes loving me so much easier.

Going into 2024, I plan to have hope for the future. Not only will I set goals for myself, but I will congratulate myself when I succeed instead of just vowing to best myself next time. I am going to treat myself kindly.

I have spent my life trying to please someone else to the detriment of my self-worth, and I am leaving that version of myself behind. I have no use for the self-loathing anymore. I need to make myself happy now.

The most difficult part of this journey is figuring out what I want for myself. I no longer have the energy to pursue music like before and learning is like torture. Maybe time will make the process easier.

Leave a comment